Instruction

What is an investigation ?

The instruction, also called judicial information, most often follows the procedure of the judicial investigation. It is the phase of the criminal procedure that allows the criminal investigation to continue, but within a jurisdictional framework, i.e. under the control of a specialized judge, namely the investigating judge, or even several investigating judges in the case of a complex case.

 

During this phase, the investigating judge must carry out the investigations necessary to establish the truth : his mission is to ensure that the case is ready for trial at the end of the investigation, if the elements of the case justify it. As long as the criminal investigation is in progress, the judge has the power to order all the investigative acts he deems necessary and to issue orders. To this end, he may also give instructions to the Public Prosecutor’s Office.

Although it is only mandatory to open a judicial investigation in criminal cases, an investigation can also be ordered in correctional cases.

 

Investigation as part of the criminal defense

Alexandre-M. BRAUN assists his clients who are accused in the context of the judicial investigation and for whom he requests, when the elements of the file allow it, the status of assisted witness. The status of assisted witness is an intermediary status between that of witness and that of accused, and may be granted when the elements of the case file are insufficient to justify an indictment.

 

In all cases, he acts proactively from the beginning of the judicial investigation and endeavors to obtain as much information as possible for his client, while assisting him during the hearings and confrontations.

 

To this end, he can ask the judge to order an investigative act and ensures the regularity of the procedure by verifying that all decisions taken and orders issued by the investigating judge comply with the legal provisions and the respect of the rights of the defense. In addition, he verifies that the investigation is carried out in a manner that is both incriminating and exculpatory, while respecting the presumption of innocence that his client must enjoy.

 

Alexandre-M. BRAUN proceeds to the research of possible procedural defects, in particular during the phase of the criminal information. He also contributes to the LAMY guide “Criminal Procedure Forms” », which is a reference for legal professionals. In this respect, he will not hesitate to request the cancellation of acts that seem irregular and that harm the rights of the defense.

He also takes all necessary steps to avoid or limit pre-trial detention for his clients, by requesting, if necessary, the placement under judicial control, as well as the release of a judicial control if the elements allow it.

 

Investigation in the context of the defense of victims

Alexandre-M. BRAUN, when he is contacted by the victim of an offence, proposes to his client to launch the investigation when necessary, by means of a complaint with civil party status, or, when the investigation has already been launched, to become a civil party and thus take part in the procedure if this is in his client’s interest.

He thus ensures that the prerogatives to which his client a civil party, is entitled at the investigation stage. are respected

 

He ensures that the rights of his plaintiff clients are respected by formulating requests for information, acts or expertise … He therefore ensures that the interests of his clients are respected.

 

Similarly, he ensures that his plaintiff clients obtain compensation for their prejudice. In this respect, he takes the necessary precautionary measures to ensure that his clients obtain the fair compensation due to them.

 

To go further :

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin


Alexandre-M. BRAUN receives clients at his law firm, by appointment only. He can be reached, preferably, through the form.

Hi, How Can We Help You?

Instruction

Qu’est-ce que l’instruction ?

L’instruction, aussi appelée information judiciaire, fait le plus souvent suite à la procédure de l’enquête judiciaire. Il s’agit de la phase de la procédure pénale qui permet de poursuivre l’enquête pénale, mais dans un cadre juridictionnel, c’est-à-dire sous le contrôle d’un juge spécialisé, à savoir le juge d’instruction, voire de plusieurs juge d’instruction en cas de dossier complexe.

 

Au cours de cette phase, le juge d’instruction doit conduire les investigations permettant la manifestation de la vérité : il a en effet pour mission de faire en sorte que le dossier soit en état d’être jugé en fin d’instruction, si les éléments du dossier le justifient. Tant que l’instruction pénale est en cours, le juge a le pouvoir d’ordonner tous les actes d’instruction qu’il estime nécessaires et de rendre des ordonnances. Pour ce faire, il peut également donner des instructions au Parquet.

S’il est obligatoire d’ouvrir une information judiciaire uniquement pour les dossiers criminels, une procédure d’instruction peut aussi être ordonnée en matière correctionnelle.

 

L’instruction dans le cadre de la défense pénale

Alexandre-M. BRAUN assiste ses clients mis en cause dans le cadre de l’instruction judiciaire et pour lesquels il sollicite, lorsque les éléments du dossier le permettent, le statut de témoin assisté. Le statut de témoin assisté constitue un statut intermédiaire entre celui de témoin et celui de mis en examen, et peut être accordé lorsque les éléments du dossier sont insuffisants pour justifier la mise en examen.

 

Dans tous les cas, il agit dans une démarche proactive dès l’ouverture de l’information judiciaire et s’attache à obtenir le maximum d’informations pour son client, tout en l’assistant au cours des auditions et des confrontations.

 

Pour cela, il peut demander au juge d’ordonner un acte d’instruction et s’assure de la régularité de la procédure en vérifiant que toutes les décisions prises et les ordonnances rendues par le juge d’instruction sont conformes aux dispositions légales et au respect des droits de la défense. De plus, il vérifie que l’instruction est bien menée à charge et à décharge, dans le respect de la présomption d’innocence dont son client doit bénéficier.

 

Alexandre-M. BRAUN procède à la recherche de possibles vices de procédure, notamment au cours de la phase de l’information pénale. Il contribue d’ailleurs au guide LAMY « Formulaires de Procédure Pénale », lequel est une référence pour les professionnels de la justice. A ce titre, il n’hésitera pas à demander l’annulation des actes qui lui semblent irréguliers et qui nuisent aux droits de la défense.

Il entreprend également toutes les démarches nécessaires pour éviter ou limiter la détention provisoire pour ses clients (lien vers « détention provisoire » en défense pénale), en demandant, si besoin est, le placement sous contrôle judiciaire, ainsi que la mainlevée d’un contrôle judiciaire si les éléments le permettent.

 

L’instruction dans le cadre de la défense des victimes

Alexandre-M. BRAUN, quand il est saisi par la victime d’une infraction, propose à son client de lancer l’instruction lorsque cela s’avère nécessaire, par le biais d’une plainte avec constitution de partie civile, ou, lorsque l’instruction est déjà lancée, de se constituer partie civile pour ainsi prendre part à la procédure si tel est l’intérêt de son client.

Il veille ainsi au respect des prérogatives auxquelles a droit son client, partie civile, au stade de l’instruction.

 

Il assure le respect des droits de ses clients plaignants en formulant des demandes d’informations, des demandes d’actes ou d’expertises … Il veille donc à ce que les intérêts de ses clients soient respectés.

 

De même, il s’assure que ses clients plaignants obtiennent réparation de leur préjudice. A ce titre, il fait prendre les mesures conservatoires nécessaires pour que ses clients obtiennent la juste indemnisation qui leur est due.

Share Post
glx

[recaptcha]

Alexandre-M. BRAUN reçoit à son cabinet, sur rendez-vous uniquement. Il est joignable, de préférence, par le biais du formulaire.

  • 7 avenue Gourgaud – 75017 PARIS
  • 01 56 68 90 90
  • 01 70 71 97 26