CIVI

What is the CIVI?

The CIVI, or Commission d’Indemnisation des Victimes d’Infractions (Commission for the Compensation of Victims of Offenses), , is the commission whose mission is to compensate victims of criminal offenses to repair the damage they have suffered.

It is seized by a request for compensation, as provided for in articles R.50-9 and R.50-10 of the Code of Criminal Procedure.

A CIVI is located in the seat of each jurisdiction of the Tribunal de Grande Instance. Victims wishing to obtain compensation for damages resulting from a criminal offence can choose between three options for referring their case to this commission: they can refer the case to the commission of the jurisdiction in which they live, to the commission of the criminal court in charge of their case, or to the commission referred by another victim of the same offence..

Each CIVI is composed of two judges du siège, aperson with expertise in victim compensation, and a representative of the public prosecutor’s office who may be either the public prosecutor or one of his or her deputies.

 

What conditions must the victim meet in order to refer a case to the CIVI?

In order to be eligible for compensation from the CIVI,the victim must :

  • either suffer a permanent partial disability, an “IPP” (i.e. an infirmity), regardless of its rate (even if it is very low),
  • or have suffered a total inability to work, a “TIW”, of at least thirty days,
  • or to be the victim of a sexual offence (rape, sexual assault), which makes the condition of prejudice disappear.

With regard to the criteria of territoriality and nationality, there are three situations in which the victim of a civil offence can refer the matter to the CIVI to obtain compensation for the prejudice resulting from the offence he or she has suffered.

The first of these situations is when a French person is the victim of an offense committed on French soil. This is the most frequent case.

The second situation is when a French person has been the victim of a criminal offence committed abroad. For example, the firm has obtained compensation for a French citizen who was the victim of violence committed in China by a Chinese citizen.

The third case is an exception to the French nationality requirement. Indeed, a foreign person who is the victim of a criminal offense committed in France can file a claim with the CIVI in order to obtain compensation for his or her loss,can file a claim with the CIVI in order to obtain compensation for his or her loss, but only if he or she is a member of the European Union or legally present in France. On the other hand, a person who is illegally present in France will have his or her claim for compensation declared inadmissible and will not be able to obtain compensation from the CIVI.

*      *

*

The CIVI can be seized by both direct and indirect victims. In this respect, the relatives of a direct victim may be compensated if they can demonstrate real prejudice resulting from the criminal offence of which their relative was a victim.

On the other hand, the Court of Cassation has considered that legal entities cannot benefit from the compensation process granted by the CIVI (Cass. 2nd civ., May 30, 2007, n°06-13.098).

Regarding the substantive conditions necessary for a request for compensation to the CIVI to be admissible, it is not necessary that the perpetrator of the offence be prosecuted, nor even that he be identified. It is sufficient that the facts have the material character of an offense.

As an example, the firm recently referred to the CIVI an admissible request for compensation for a victim who had suffered physical injury, even though the perpetrator of the violence she had suffered had not been identified and was therefore not being prosecuted.

The victim of any criminal offence can file a claim for compensation with the CIVI, as long as he or she meets the above-mentioned conditions and the material nature of the offence is demonstrated. However, certain offenses are excluded from the jurisdiction of this commission: for example, victims of terrorist offenses or victims of traffic accidents.

These specific offences have their own compensation system..

 

What is the role of the lawyer before the CIVI ?

Thelawyer prepares the referral to the CIVI.. Once the request for compensation has been deemed admissible and forwarded by the CIVI, the Guarantee Fund has two months to make an amicable proposal for compensation to the victim, pursuant to article 706-51 of the Code of Criminal Procedure.

If the victim accepts the proposal, it will be approved by the CIVI.

The commission also has the power to grant advance payments, at any stage of the proceedings. It can also carry out additional investigations to ensure the reality of the loss and its extent.

 

What is the deadline for filing a claim with the CIVI ?

Article 706-5 of the Code of Criminal Procedure sets deadlines for the victim to submit a claim for compensation to the CIVI. Thus, this request must be made within 3 years of the date of commission of the criminal offence for which the victim is seeking compensation, within one year of the final decision on the public prosecution or on the civil action rendered by the court when criminal proceedings have followed this offence.

 

Alexandre M-Braun, lawyer in criminal law, accompanies you

Alexandre-M. BRAUN accompanies his clients victims of criminal offences until they are compensated. In this respect, he assists them during the the procedure before the CIVI, from the initial request for which he verifies the conditions of admissibility to obtaining their compensation. In order to do so, he focuses on characterizing his client’s prejudice in accordance with the Dinthilac nomenclature, a list of compensable prejudices established in 2005 and used as a tool by most jurisdictions, in order to ensure that all the prejudice items are compensated. And this in order to obtain for his client a legitimate compensation by the CIVI

Share this article


Alexandre-M. BRAUN receives clients at his law firm, by appointment only. He can be reached, preferably, through the form.

Hi, How Can We Help You?

Qu’est-ce que la CIVI ?

La CIVI, ou Commission d’Indemnisation des Victimes d’Infractions, est la commission qui a pour mission d’indemniser les victimes d’infractions pénales pour réparer le préjudice qu’elles ont subi.

Elle est saisie par une requête en indemnisation, telle que prévue aux articles R.50-9 et R.50-10 du Code de procédure pénale.

Une CIVI est installée dans le siège de chaque ressort de Tribunal de grande instance. La victime qui souhaite se faire indemniser son préjudice résultant d’une infraction pénale a le choix entre trois options pour saisir cette commission : elle peut saisir celle du ressort dans lequel elle habite, celle du ressort de la juridiction pénale en charge de son dossier, ou celle saisie par une autre victime de la même infraction.

Chaque CIVI est composée de deux magistrats du siège, d’une personne compétente dans le domaine de l’indemnisation des victimes, et d’un représentant du ministère public qui peut être soit le Procureur de la République, soit l’un de ses substituts.

 

Quelles conditions doit remplir la victime pour saisir la CIVI ?

S’agissant du préjudice, la victime, pour relever de l’indemnisation de la CIVI, doit :

  • soit subir une incapacité permanente partielle, une « IPP » (c’est-à-dire une infirmité), quel que soit son taux (même s’il est très faible),
  • soit avoir subi une incacapacité totale de travail, une «ITT », d’au moins trente jours,
  • soi être victime d’une infraction de nature sexuelle (viol, agression sexuelle), qui fait disparaitre la condition de préjudice.

S’agissant des critères de territorialité et de nationalité, il existe trois cas de figure dans lesquels la victime d’une infraction civile peut saisir la CIVI pour se voir indemnisée du préjudice résultant de l’infraction qu’elle a subie.

La première de ces situations est celle dans laquelle une personne française est victime d’une infraction commise sur le sol national. Il s’agit du cas de figure le plus fréquent.

La deuxième situation est celle dans laquelle une personne française a été victime d’une infraction pénale commise à l’étranger. A titre d’exemple, le cabinet a notamment obtenu l’indemnisation d’une personne de nationalité française victime de violences commises en Chine par une personne de nationalité chinoise.

Le troisième cas est une exception à la condition de nationalité française. En effet, une personne étrangère victime d’une infraction pénale commise en France peut saisir la CIVI aux fins de se voir indemniser son préjudice, mais uniquement si elle est membre de l’Union Européenne ou en situation régulière en France. A contrario, une personne en situation irrégulière en France verra sa requête en indemnisation être déclarée irrecevable et ne pourra pas obtenir réparation de la part de la CIVI.

*      *

*

La CIVI peut être saisie aussi bien par les victimes directes que par les victimes indirectes. A ce titre, les proches d’une victime directe pourront se voir indemniser s’ils démontrent un préjudice réel découlant de l’infraction pénale dont a été victime leur proche.

A l’inverse, la Cour de Cassation a considéré que les personnes morales ne peuvent pas bénéficier du procédé d’indemnisation accordée par la CIVI (Cass. 2ème civ., 30 mai 2007, n°06-13.098).

Concernant les conditions de fond nécessaires pour qu’une requête en indemnisation à la CIVI soit recevable, il n’est pas nécessaire que l’auteur de l’infraction n’ait été poursuivi, ni même qu’il soit identifié. Il suffit que les faits présentent le caractère matériel d’une infraction.

A titre d’exemple, le cabinet a récemment saisi la CIVI d’une requête en indemnisation recevable pour une victime ayant subi un préjudice physique, alors même que l’auteur des violences subies par elle n’avait pas été identifié donc qu’il ne faisait pas l’objet de poursuites pénales.

La victime de toute infraction pénale peut saisir la CIVI d’une requête en indemnisation, à partir du moment où elle remplit les conditions précitées et où le caractère matériel de l’infraction est démontré. Cependant, certaines infractions sont exclues de la compétence de cette commission : il s’agit par exemple des victimes d’infractions de terrorisme ou encore des victimes d’accidents de la circulation.

Ces infractions spécifiques possèdent un système d’indemnisation qui leur est propre.

 

Quel est le rôle de l’avocat devant la CIVI ?

L’avocat met en forme la saisine de la CIVI. Une fois la requête en indemnisation jugée recevable et transmise par la CIVI, le Fonds de Garantie dispose d’un délai de deux mois pour faire une proposition amiable d’indemnisation à la victime, en application de l’article 706-51 du Code de procédure pénale.

Si celle-ci l’accepte, cette proposition sera homologuée par la CIVI.

La commission a aussi le pouvoir d’accorder des provisions, et ce à tous les stades de la procédure. Elle peut aussi procéder à des investigations complémentaires pour s’assurer de la réalité du préjudice et de son étendue.

L’article 706-5 du Code de procédure pénale fixe des délais imposés à la victime pour adresser une requête en indemnisation à la CIVI. Ainsi, cette demande doit intervenir dans les 3 ans qui suivent la date de commission de l’infraction pénale pour laquelle la victime demande réparation, ou dans l’année qui suit la décision définitive sur l’action publique ou sur l’action civile rendue par la juridiction lorsque des poursuites pénales ont fait suite à cette infraction.

Alexandre-M. BRAUN accompagne ses clients victimes d’infraction pénale jusqu’à leur indemnisation. A ce titre, il les assiste au cours de la procédure devant la CIVI, de la requête initiale dont il vérifie les conditions de recevabilité à l’obtention de leur indemnisation. Pour ce faire, il s’attache à caractériser le préjudice de son client conformément à la nomenclature Dinthilac, liste des préjudices indemnisables établie en 2005 et qui sert d’outil à la plupart des juridictions, afin de s’assurer que tous les postes de préjudice soient indemnisés. Et ce afin d’obtenir pour son client une légitime indemnisation par la CIVI.

Share Post
glx

[recaptcha]

Alexandre-M. BRAUN reçoit à son cabinet, sur rendez-vous uniquement. Il est joignable, de préférence, par le biais du formulaire.

  • 7 avenue Gourgaud – 75017 PARIS
  • 01 56 68 90 90
  • 01 70 71 97 26